Home » Employment News 2016 » Dhyan Chand Award 2002 to 2016 | National Sports Award

Dhyan Chand Award 2002 to 2016 | National Sports Award

Dhyan Chand Award is a prestigious prize given by the Government of India to deserving sportspersons for lifetime achievement in sports. The award was instituted in 2002 and carried a cash prize of Rs. 5 lakh, a scroll of honor and a statuette. The award is not given to more than 4 sportspersons in any calendar year.

The prestigious award is named after Dhyan Chand, considered to be the greatest hockey player ever. Dhyan Chand was the undoubted star of the Indian hockey team in the 1920s and 1930s, which won multiple gold medals in the Olympics during this period. There has never been a hockey player like Dhyan Chand and he is a true legend. It is fitting that an award as important as this one has been constituted in his name.

The Dhyan Chand Award is different from the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna  and the Arjuna Award as it is not just awarded to sportspersons based on their recent performances – It is given to deserving sportspersons for their contribution to sports over a lifetime, including for their work after retirement.

Some of the recipients of the Dhyan Chand Award such as Zeeshan Ali (Tennis), Gurmail Singh (Hockey) and Rajkumar Baisla (Wrestling) were honored for contributing to the development of the sports and in assisting a younger generation of athletes and sportspersons following their retirement.

The recipients of this award are expected to exhibit leadership, discipline and have all the attributes of sportsmanship. The awardees are chosen by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports based on recommendations from the Indian Olympic Association, all recognized National Sports Federations and all state governments.

List of Dhyan Chand Award 2016 Recipients | Major Dhyan Chand Lifetime Achievement Award 2016 Winners

1. Ms. Satti Geetha 2016 Athletics
2. Shri Sylvanus Dung Dung 2016 Hockey
3. Shri Rajendra Pralhad Shelke 2016 Rowing

List of Dhyan Chand Award Recipients | Major Dhyan Chand Lifetime Achievement Award Winners

S.No Name Year Sports/ Games
1. Aparna Ghosh 2002 Basketball
2. Ashok Diwan 2002 Hockey
3. Shahuraj Birajdar 2002 Boxing
4. Charles Cornelius 2003 Hockey
5. Dharam Singh Mann 2003 Hockey
6. Om Prakash 2003 Volleyball
7. Ram Kumar 2003 Basketball
8. Smita Yadav 2003 Rowing
9. Hardyal Singh 2004 Hockey
10. Labh Singh 2004 Athletics
11. Mehendale Parshuram 2004 Athletics
12. Manoj Kothari 2005 Billiards and Snooker
13. Maruti Mane 2005 Wrestling
14. Rajinder Singh 2005 Hockey
15. Harishchandra Birajdar 2006 Wrestling
16. Nandy Singh 2006 Hockey
17. Uday Prabhu 2006 Athletics
18. Rajendra Singh 2007 Wrestling
19. Shamsher Singh 2007 Kabaddi
20. Varinder Singh 2007 Hockey
21. Gian Singh 2008 Wrestling
22. Hakam Singh 2008 Athletics
23. Mukhbain Singh 2008 Hockey
24. Ishar Singh Deol 2009 Athletics
25. Satbir Singh Dahya 2009 Wrestling
26. Satish Pillai 2010 Athletics
27. Anita Chanu 2010 Weightlifting
28. Kuldeep Singh 2010 Wrestling
29. Shabbir Ali 2011 Football
30. Sushil Kohli 2011 Swimming
31. Rajkumar Baisla 2011 Wrestling
32. Jagraj Singh Mann 2012 Athletics
33. Gundeep Kumar 2012 Hockey
34. Vinod Kumar 2012 Wrestling
35. Sukhbir Singh Tokas 2012 Para-Sports
36. Mary D’souza Sequeira 2013 Athletics
37. Syed Ali 2013 Hockey
38. Anil Mann (Old) 2013 Wrestling
39. Girraj Singh 2013 Para-Sports
40. Gurmail Singh 2014 Hockey
41. K.P.Thakkar 2014 Swimming-Diving
42. Zeeshan Ali 2014 Tennis
43. Romeo James 2015 Hockey
44. Shiv Prakash Mishra 2015 Tennis
45. T.P.P.Nair 2015 Volleyball
46. Ms. Satti Geetha 2016 Athletics
47. Shri Sylvanus Dung Dung 2016 Hockey
48. Shri Rajendra Pralhad Shelke 2016 Rowing

List of Dhyan Chand Award Recipients
Major Dhyan Chand Lifetime Achievement Award 2016
Dhyan Chand Award 2016 Winners
Dhyan Chand Award 2016 is given for which category
Who has won the 2016 Major Dhyan Chand Lifetime Achievement Award?
Dhyan Chand Award in Hockey
Dhyan Chand Award in Basketball
Dhyan Chand Award in Boxing
Dhyan Chand Award in Volleyball
Dhyan Chand Award in Rowing
Dhyan Chand Award in Athletics
Dhyan Chand Award in Billiards and Snooker
Dhyan Chand Award in Wrestling
Dhyan Chand Award in Kabaddi
Dhyan Chand Award in Weightlifting
Dhyan Chand Award in Football
Dhyan Chand Award in Swimming
Dhyan Chand Award in Para-Sports
Dhyan Chand Award in Tennis

About Priyanka Singh

"By Priyanka Singh" - You can find Author on Google+. Our Employment News or Free Job Alert will help in getting all those vital information that can help you to select your best career option with just an email subscription. Subscribe to our Daily Employment News or Free Job Alert right now to get daily job updates in your mail box.
All candidates whether in Government Service or in Government owned undertaking or other similar organizations/ Corporations/ Boards/ Bodies or in private employments should forward his/ her application through his/ her Controlling Officer/ Employer.

Is this Sarkari Job is not relevant to your Qualification/ Experience/ Sector/ Company/ Location you want to work with; You can find All Education/ Experience/ Sector/ Company/ Location Latest Government Jobs Advertisement from Public Sector Units. Employment News - Explore your career opportunity.

Check Also

UPSC NDA 2017 (1) Exam Date 23 April 2017 Apply Online: Course Commencing 02 Jan 2018

NDA 1 Exam Date 23 April 2017 Notification/ Advertisement- Eligibility, Application Form, Apply Online (Registration), Admit ...

National Insurance Company Ltd Recruitment 2017: 205 Administrative Officers

National Insurance Company Limited, invites online applications from eligible candidates for 205 vacancies of Administrative ...

Kirori Mal College Recruitment 2017: Non-teaching Permanent Posts

Kirori Mal College, University of Delhi, invites applications in prescribed format from eligible candidates for ...

Leave a Reply

error: Content is protected !!