सरकारी नौकरी बंपर भर्ती ON TELEGRAM

Dronacharya Award Winner 1985 to 2017 | National Sports Award

While there are many awards offered by the Government of India to honor sportsmen and women for outstanding performances in various sports, there is only one that recognizes the contribution of coaches. It is called the Dronacharya Award and it is offered to coaches and trainers for dedicating their lives towards the task of producing outstanding athletes and sportspersons for the country.

The Dronacharya Award was first instituted in 1985. It carries a cash prize of Rs. 7 lakh, and comes with a tie, a blazer, a scroll and a suit. Also included is a bronze statue of Guru Dronacharya, the great teacher from the Mahabharata who taught archery to the mighty warrior prince Arjuna.

It is entirely appropriate that India’s highest award for coaches is named after Dronacharya, considering the fact that the nation’s highest sports award for outstanding performance in sports called the Arjuna Award. The winners of the Dronacharya Award include Indian and foreign coaches. B.I. Fernandez from Cuba is the first foreign coach to be given this award for his contribution to Indian boxing.

Some of the most famous recipients of this award are Ramakant Achrekar, who coached Sachin Tendulkar, and the great Pullela Gopichand, who has trained world class badminton players who have won great laurels for India such as Saina Nehwal and P.V. Sindhu.

The recipients are selected by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports. The number of Dronacharya Awards given cannot exceed five in any calendar year.  Only individuals working as full time or part time coaches and who have had an excellent track record during the year for which the award is given, as well as for three years prior to that are eligible for the prize.

Dronacharya Awards 2017 Winners

S.No. Name of the Awardee Discipline
1 G. S. S. V. Prasad Badminton (For Lifetime Contribution)
2 Brij Bhushan Mohanty Boxing (For Lifetime Contribution)
3. Roshan Lal Wrestling (For Lifetime Contribution)
4. Sanjoy Chakraverthy Shooting (For Lifetime Contribution)
5. Heera Nand Kataria Kabaddi
6. R. Gandhi Athletics
7. P. A. Raphel Hockey (For Lifetime Contribution)


Sr. No. Year Sportsperson [Awardee] Sport [Discipline]
01 1985 O.M. Nambiar Athletics
02 1985 Om Prakash Bhardwaj Boxing
03 1985 Bhalchandra Bhaskar Bhagwat Wrestling
04 1986 Raghunandan Vasant Gokhle Chess
05 1986 Desh Prem Azad Cricket
06 1987 Gurcharan Singh Cricket
07 1987 Guru Hanuman Wrestling
08 1990 Ramakant Achrekar Cricket
09 1990 Syed Naeemuddin Football
10 1990 A. Ramana Rao Volleyball
11 1994 Ilyas Babar Athletics
12 1995 Karan Singh Athletics
13 1995 M. Shyam Sunder Rao Volleyball
14 1996 Wilson Jones Billiards and Snooker
15 1996 Pal Singh Sandhu Weightlifting
16 1997 Joginder Singh Saini Athletics
17 1998 Bahadur Singh Athletics
18 1998 >Hargobind Singh Sandhu Athletics
19 1998 G.S.Sandhu Boxing
20 1999 Kenneth Owen Bosen Athletics
21 1999 Capt. Hawa Singh Boxing
22 1999 Ajay Kumar Sirohi Weightlifting
23 2000 S.M. Arif Badminton
24 2000 Gudial Singh Bhangu Hockey
25 2000 Phadke Gopal Pushottam Kho-Kho
26 2000 Bhupender Dhawan Powerlifting
27 2000 Hansa Sharma Weightlifting
28 2001 Prof. Sunny Thomas Shooting
29 2001 Michael Joseph Ferreira Billiards and Snooker
30 2002 Renu Kohli Athletics
31 2002 Jaswant Singh Athletics
32 2002 M.K. Kaushik Hockey
33 2002 E. Prasad Rao Kabaddi
34 2002 Cdr. H.D. Motivala Yachting
35 2003 Robert Bobby George Athletics
36 2003 Anoopkumar Saharan Women’s boxing
37 2003 Rajinder Singh Hockey
38 2003 Sukhchain Singh Cheema Wrestling
39 2004 Arvind Savur Billiards and Snooker
40 2004 Sunita Sharma Cricket
41 2004 Cyrus Poncha Squash
42 2004 Gurcharan Singh Boxing
43 2005 Hony. Captain M Venu Boxing
44 2005 Balwan Singh Kabaddi
45 2005 Maha Singh Rao Wrestling
46 2005 Ismail Baig Rowing
47 2006 R.D. Singh Athletics
48 2006 Damodaran Chandralal Boxing
49 2006 Koneru Ashok Chess
50 2007 Sanjeev Kumar Singh Archery
51 2007 Jagdish Singh Boxing
52 2007 G.E. Sridharan Volleyball
53 2007 Jagminder Singh Wrestling
54 2009 Pullela Gopichand Badminton
55 2009 Satpal Wrestling
56 2009 J. Uday Kumar Kabaddi
57 2009 Baldev Singh Hockey
58 2009 Jaidev Bisht Boxing
59 2010 AK Kutty Athletics (For Lifetime Contribution)
60 2010 Captain Chandrup Wrestling (For Lifetime Contribution)
61 2010 Ajay Kumar Bansal Hockey
62 2010 Subhash Agarwal Billiards and Snooker
63 2010 L Ibomcha Singh Boxing
64 2011 Inukurthi Venkateshwara Rao Boxing
65 2011 Devender Kumar Rathore Gymnastics
66 2011 Ramphal Athletics
67 2011 Kuntal Roy Athletics
68 2011 Rajinder Singh Hockey
69 2012 Virendra Poonia Athletics
70 2012 Sunil Dabas Kabaddi (Women)
71 2012 Yashvir Singh Wrestling
72 2012 Harendra Singh Hockey
73 2012 Satyapal Singh Para Sports(Athletics)
74 2012 J.S. Bhatia Athletics
75 2012 Bhavani Mukharjee Table Tennis
76 2012 B.I. Fernadez Cuban Boxing Coach-Boxing (For Lifetime Contribution)
77 2013 Poornima Mahato Archery
78 2013 Mahavir Singh Boxing
79 2013 Narinder Singh Saini Hockey
80 2013 K P Thomas Athletics
81 2013 Raj Singh Wrestling
82 2014 Mahabir Prasad Wrestling
83 2014 Jose Jacob Rowing (For lifetime contribution)
84 2014 N.Lingappa Athletics (For lifetime contribution)
85 2014 G. Manoharan Boxing (For lifetime contribution)
86 2014 Gurcharan Singh Gogi Judo (For lifetime contribution)
87 2015 Anoop Singh Wrestling
88 2015 Naval Singh Para Athletics
89 2015 Harbans Singh Athletics (For Lifetime Contribution)
90 2015 Swatantra Raj Singh Boxing (For Lifetime Contribution)
91 2015 Nihar Ameen Swimming (For Lifetime Contribution)
92 2016 Nagapuri Ramesh Athletics
93 2016 Sagar Mal Dhayal Boxing
94 2016 Raj Kumar Sharma Cricket
95 2016 Bishweshwar Nandi Gymnastics
96 2016 Pradeep Kumar Swimming (For Lifetime Contribution)
97 2016 Mahavir Singh Phogat Wrestling (For Lifetime Contribution)
How to Write A Cover Letter Tips For Fresher CV Resume Job 2022-23 Application?

Why A Professional Degree is Not Enough? Certifications, Soft Skills Are Important

Why IT Skills are Important to Every Job Seeker?

Explore your career opportunity: Is this Sarkari Job, Dronacharya Award Winner 1985 to 2017 | National Sports Award 2022-23 is not relevant to your Qualification, Experience, Sector, Company, Location you want to work with; You can FIND ALL Latest Sarkari Jobs 2022-23 Advertisement from Public Sector Units or Departments.

All candidates whether in Government Service or in Government owned undertaking or other similar organizations/ Corporations/ Boards/ Bodies or in private employments should forward his/ her application through his/ her Controlling Officer/ Employer for applying to Dronacharya Award Winner 1985 to 2017 | National Sports Award 2022-23.

About admin

For any questions or comments you might have, contact via email at employmentdoor@gmail.com Our Employment News or Free Job Alert will help in getting all those vital information that can help you to select your best career option with just an email subscription. Subscribe to our Daily Employment News or Free Job Alert right now to get daily job updates in your mail box.

Check Also

AGRICOOP Recruitment 2022-23: Technical Assistant Vacancy, NRFMTTI

AGRICOOP Department of Agriculture Cooperation and Farmers Welfare, Ministry of Agriculture and Farmers Welfare, Government …

IREDA Recruitment 2022-23 Renewable Energy Manager Vacancy on Regular Basis

The Indian Renewable Energy Development Agency Limited (IREDA), A Mini Ratna Category-I Public Sector Unit, …

Braithwaite & Co. Limited Recruitment 2022-23 Notification

The Braithwaite & Co. (India) Limited – Railway Wagons Manufacturing & Maintenance, Cranes Manufacturing & …

Leave a Reply

error: Content is protected !!