Home » Employment News 2016 » Bharat Ratna Award Winners List From 1954 to 2017 Awardees

Bharat Ratna Award Winners List From 1954 to 2017 Awardees

Bharat RatnaBharat Ratna is the highest civilian award granted by the Government of India to distinguished citizens. The award was instituted in 1954. The purpose of the Bharat Ratna is to award exceptional service or performance of the highest order without any discrimination.

When the award was first constituted, it was meant to reward exceptional achievements in art, science, literature and public service. But since 2011, the criteria of the award have been expanded to include exceptional achievements in any human endeavor.

It is the Prime Minister of India who recommends the Bharat Ratna and it is the President of India who confers it. Winners of the award receive a certificate or a Sanad signed by the President and a medallion. This award does not carry any monetary grants. There can only be a maximum of three nominees awarded per year.

The first recipients of the Bharat Ratna were among the greatest Indians who ever lived – freedom fighter C. Rajagopalachari, former President, teacher and philosopher Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan, and the great scientist C. V. Raman. They were given this honor in 1954.

Since then the Bharat Ratna has been conferred to 45 distinguished men and women, including 12 who were given the award posthumously.

Sachin Tendulkar, the greatest cricketer of his generation was the youngest to receive this award, at the age of 40. Two non-Indians, freedom fighter Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan of Pakistan and former South African President Nelson Mandela have also received the award.

Year Name Of The Person/ Awardee(s)
1954 Dr. S. Radhakrishnan, Chakravarti Rajagopalachari, Dr Chandrashekhar Venkataraman [First Awardee(s)]
1955 Dr. Bhagwan Das, Dr. Mokshgundm Visveswaraya, Jawaharlal Nehru
1957 Govind Vallabh Pant
1958 Keshav Karve Rdhodo
1961 Dr. BC Roy, Purushottam Das Tandon
1962 Dr. Rajendra Prasad
1963 Dr. Zakir Hussain, Pandurang Vaman Kane
1966 Lal Bahadur Shastri (posthumous)
1971 Indira Gandhi
1975 V. V. Giri
1976 K. Kamaraj (posthumous)
1980 Mother Teresa
1983 Acharya Vinoba Bhave (posthumous)
1987 Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan (The first overseas)
1988 Marudur Gopalan Ramachandran (posthumous)
1990 Dr. BR Ambedkar (posthumously), Nelson Mandela
1991 Rajiv Gandhi (posthumous), Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel (posthumous), Morarji Desai
1992 JRD Tata, Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (posthumously), Ray
1997 Aruna Asaf Ali (posthumous), Gulzari Lal Nanda (posthumous), A.P.J. Abdul Kalam
1998 M. S. Subbulakshmi, C. Subramaniam, Jayaprakash Narayan (posthumous)
1999 Professor Amartya Sen, Pandit Ravi Shankar, Gopinath Bardoli (posthumous)
2001 Lata Mangeshkar, Ustad Khan Bismilah
2009 Bhimsen Joshi
2014 Sachin Tendulkar, Dr. C.N.R. Rao
2015 Atal Bihari Vajpayee, Madan Mohan Malviya (posthumous) [Recent Awardee(s)]

About Priyanka Singh

"By Priyanka Singh" - You can find Author on Google+. Our Employment News or Free Job Alert will help in getting all those vital information that can help you to select your best career option with just an email subscription. Subscribe to our Daily Employment News or Free Job Alert right now to get daily job updates in your mail box.
All candidates whether in Government Service or in Government owned undertaking or other similar organizations/ Corporations/ Boards/ Bodies or in private employments should forward his/ her application through his/ her Controlling Officer/ Employer.

Is this Sarkari Job is not relevant to your Qualification/ Experience/ Sector/ Company/ Location you want to work with; You can find All Education/ Experience/ Sector/ Company/ Location Latest Government Jobs Advertisement from Public Sector Units. Employment News - Explore your career opportunity.

Check Also

JKPSC Medical Officer Recruitment 2017 Notification: 371 Vacancies

Jammu and Kashmir Public Service Commission invites applications form eligible (permanent residents of Jammu & ...

NWDA Recruitment 2017: Lower Division Clerk Regular Vacancies

National Water Development Agency, under the Ministry of Water Resources, River Development & Ganga Rejuvenation, ...

Gujarat Postal Circle Recruitment 2017: 413 Multi Tasking Staff Vacancies

Assistant Director Postal Services (Recruitment) O/o. Chief Postmaster General Gujarat Circle, Ahmedabad- 380001 Office of ...

Leave a Reply

error: Content is protected !!